What Have I Gotten Myself Into?

For Empire State College, I am in the middle of teaching a great class on Information Design.  For Art Institute of Pittsburgh Online Division, we just started another session and I have two sections of Computer Literacy.  For Southwest Baptist, I’ve converted a class I been a student in, and taught twice before, from being two weeks for hours each day in a computer lab, to three weeks online, on the topic of Multimedia Applications (used for making interactive lessons for students).

And they are running right now,  at the same time.

It is not a surprise; I knew all of this was coming.  But I suspect I have underestimated the effort it will require to do any and all of this well.  It’s already an effect I feel too much at my instructional technologist work.  Jack of many trades, master of none.  All work and no play making Jack a dull boy.

Even so, today was a good, no, great day.  And amongst other realizations, I think I have gained an appreciation for the plight of anyone teaching in higher education.  The jumble of student names, class topics, ideas & inspirations… the juggling act of keeping all of these plates spinning.  My perspective has widened, I can appreciate the conflict of wanting to help as many as possible, yet worry about how I’ll make it from day-to-day.

If I make a post by this time next week, you’ll know I made it through the rough part.  And helped at least 60+ people along the way.

~ by Neal Cross on July 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
